Focusing on creation, mobilisation and realisation of innovative engineering solutions to address challenges arising from the global crisis, Engineering towards a Post-Pandemic Sustainable World, WES 2021 aims to create new economic frontiers and capture new opportunities in sustainability. Here are the areas of focus in this conference.


Track 1: Sustainable Living Through Technology

Chairpersons: Ms Wan Siew Ping & Ms Jasmine Foo

Keynote Speakers: 

  • Mr Mark Monroe, Principal Engineer, Microsoft Datacenter Advanced Development Group
  • Dr Alberto Ravagni, Co-founder and Managing Director, InfraPrime
  • Prof Guan Yingchun, Professor, National Engineering Laboratory of Additive Manufacturing for Large Metallic Components
  • Prof Venkatesan, Director of the Center for Quantum Research and Technology (Professor of Physics and ECE), University of Oklahoma

List of sub-topics

  • Urban planning integrated with Smart Systems

  • Low Carbon Economy

  • Renewable Energy

  • Waste Management & Circular Economy

  • Climate Change Mitigation

Track 2: Future Engineering and Industry 4.0

Chairman: Prof Seeram Ramakrishna

Keynote Speakers:

  • Prof Amaresh Chakrabarti, Senior Professor and Chairperson, Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing, IISc
  • Prof Ibrahim Dincer, Professor, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, OntarioTech
  • Prof Thorat Bhaskar, Director, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
  • Mr David Carew, Managing Director of Alternative Energy Investments Pte Ltd
  • Mr Alain Dupuis, VP Industrial Development, UnaBiz Singapore
  • Mr Alireza Yaghoubi, CTO, AirGo Design SG

List of sub-topics

  • Green Manufacturing
  • Food Processing & Storage
  • ICT Infrastructure / Data Centre
  • Modelling & Simulation
  • Advanced Storage Systems
Track 3: AI and Digitalisation

Chairmen: Prof Er Meng Joo & Dr Teo Tee Hui

Keynote Speakers:

  • Prof Tony Quek, Head of ISTD Pillar, SUTD
  • Prof Lim Chee Peng, Deakin University
  • A/Prof Elsa Feng Xue Assistant Professor Engineering Cluster, SIT
  • Professor Jonathan Mark Garibaldi​, Head of School, Computer Science​.
    University of Nottingham

List of sub-topics

  • Energy Standards

  • Sensor & Data Flow 

  • Ethical issues with AI

Track 4: Sustainable Urban Mobility

Chairmen: Mr Lew Yii Der & A/Prof Zhou Yi

Keynote Speakers:

  • Mr Mark Tan Kiak Yang, Head, National Electric Vehicle Centre,
    Land Transport Authority
  • A/Prof Yap Fook Fah, Co-Director of LTA-NTU TRC
  • Mr Chew Men Leong, President, Urban Solutions, ST Engineering
  • Mr RJ Johnson, Senior Vice President of Commercial Operations, Form Energy
  • Mr Cliff Fietzek, Chief Technology Officer, InCharge Energy, Inc.
  • Ms Lily Feng, Regional Business Lead, Automobile in Asia, Microsoft
  • Dr Malika Meghjani​, Assistant Professor in Information Systems Technology and Design (ISTD) Pillar, SUTD
  • Mr CK Vishwakarma, Founder/ CEO, AllThingsConnected
  • Assoc Prof Lindsay Anderson, Interim Director, Cornell Energy System Institute

List of sub-topics

  • Active Mobility

  • Electric Vehicles

  • Autonomous Vehicles

  • Sustainable Railway

Track 5: Engineering Education

Chairman: Prof SK Chou

Keynote Speakers:

  • Prof Liu Jianguo, Professor, Centre for Systems Integration and Sustainability Rachel Carson Chair in Sustainability & Director, Michigan State University
  • Mr Wilson Deng. Chairman, Singapore Manufacturing Consortium (SIMCO) & CEO, Arcstone Pte. Ltd.
  • Prof Peter Sachsenmeier, Professor, National Academy of Science and Engineering

List of sub-topics

  • Technology Enhanced Learning

  • Accreditation Framework

  • Engineers and Society

Track 6: Impact of New Technologies on Productisation, Safety and Human Factors Practice

Chairmen: Dr Teo Tee Hui & Mr Jason Oh


Keynote Speakers:

  • Dr Angela Tan, Programme Director, Human Performance Programme, DSO National laboratories
  • Mr Dennis Chew, Regional Director (IEC Asia-Pacific Regional Centre), International Electrotechnical Commission
  • Mr JC Sekar, Co-founder and CEO of AcuiZen Technologies
  • Prof Saeid Nahavandi, Alfred Deakin Professor, Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation, Deakin University – Victoria, Australia
  • Mr Dan Freeman, Vice President, Safety Management System, Boeing

List of sub-topics

  • Standardisation
  • Research and Commercialisation
  • Safety Standards
  • Design for Safety and Sustainability (DfSS)
  • Design for Inspection (DfI)
  • Human Factors Training

Join Our World Engineers Summit 2021 NOW!